The economy we want :

Choices to make for Québec

In this global context in transition, Québec is at a crossroads

Québec is evolving in a context marked by economic growth running out of steam and an unprecedented climate and environmental crisis. The growth of emerging economies also presents challenges for the competitiveness of our companies but opens up huge markets to them. This growth accentuates the pressure on the availability of energy and resources, resulting in the continuous search for reductions in production costs and greater efficiency in the use of increasingly expensive resources.

What economy do we want to ensure the long-term dynamism and quality of life of Québec society over the next few decades?

To make the switch to a green economy, it is urgent and necessary for Québec to move quickly to adopt an ambitious game plan, considerable means and coherent and complementary strategies guiding the joint efforts of public and private players. SWITCH also believes this vision must be based on a broad social consensus.

Insist on its implementation

Building on the achievements accomplished to date, SWITCH wants to focus its next actions on concretizing the changes already begun.

Governments increasingly understand the extent to which the switch to a green economy is necessary and positive. Thanks to SWITCH’s work, they know better how this change must be applied, particularly in key sectors such as transportation, technological development and procurement. Unfortunately, government actions encounter strong inertia and are bogged down in all kinds of systemic constraints (regulation, resistance to change, social norms and beliefs, etc., so much so that the expected switch does not become reality. From now on, SWITCH therefore wants to focus its attention on identifying barriers (hindrances) to government actions, and the ways to get around them. The issue is no longer to convince governments to act in favour of the development of a green economy, but to help them achieve this.

L’économie que nous voulons :

Des choix à faire pour le Québec

Le Québec évolue dans un contexte marqué par un essoufflement de la croissance économique et par une crise climatique et environnementale sans précédent. La croissance des économies émergentes, présentent également des défis à la compétitivité de nos entreprises mais leur ouvrent également d’énormes marchés. Cette croissance accentue la pression sur la disponibilité de l’énergie et des ressources, ce qui entraîne la recherche continue de réductions dans les coûts de production et d’une plus grande efficience dans l’utilisation de ressources de plus en plus chères.

Dans ce contexte mondial en transition, le Québec est à une croisée des chemins

Quelle économie voulons-nous pour asseoir, sur le long terme, le dynamisme et la qualité de vie de la société québécoise au cours des prochaines décennies ?

Pour effectuer le virage vers une économie verte, il s’avère urgent et nécessaire que le Québec se donne rapidement un plan de match ambitieux, des moyens conséquents et des stratégies cohérentes et complémentaires guidant les efforts conjoints des acteurs publics et privés. SWITCH croit également que cette vision doit être appuyée sur un large consensus social.

Insister sur la mise en oeuvre

Fort des réalisations accomplies jusqu’ici, SWITCH veut concentrer ses prochaines actions à concrétiser les changements amorcés.
Les gouvernements comprennent de plus en plus à quel point le virage vers une économie verte est nécessaire et positif. Grâce aux travaux de SWITCH, ils savent mieux comment doit s’opérer ce changement, notamment dans des secteurs clé comme le transport, le développement technologique et les approvisionnements. Malheureusement, l’action gouvernementale se bute à une forte inertie et s’enlise dans toutes sortes de contraintes de système (règlementation, résistance aux changements, normes et croyances sociales, etc.), si bien que le virage espéré n’arrive pas à s’imposer. Ainsi, SWITCH veut désormais porter son attention sur l’identification des barrières (freins) à l’action gouvernementale, et sur les manières de les contourner. Il ne s’agit donc plus tant de convaincre les gouvernements d’agir en faveur du développement d’une économie verte, mais de les aider à y parvenir.